Craft Shows & Fair…to do or not to do!

Hey everyone, so I have a predicament!  I’ve of course gotten back into my old crafty habits, one of them being jewelry-making.  I love all the pieces my I make and would totally keep all of them to myself, but it would be selfish not to share them with the world, now wouldn’t it?! LOL!  Nonetheless, I love going to expos, shows, and fairs, but usually as a buyer/viewer not as a seller.  I know they are a great way to generate business and get my name out there, but I know they usually cost a few hundred bucks to participate in.  Well, my main predicament outside of the lack of time I have with training and all, is that I just starting my jewelry making back up and have not made a profit.  I can put up the money to go to the shows, but at the same time I feel like I need to begin making a profit to do so.

Like most things in life, you can have one with out the other.  Buyers have to like your products and have an appreciation for your pieces.  I guess its daunting to put myself out there and see if people in person will do so.  Its hard to make a commitment now to do these shows, not just because of the money, but because it is so hard to plan anything around my busy training schedule.  I enjoy making jewelry so much and really want to share it with the world.   

For the time being, I will continue to crank out pieces and post them online and network with those around me.  I know the next few months will be busy, but I find solace in knowing that I have such a fun and rewarding outlet as jewelry-making.

If you’ve been in a similar predicament or situation, let me know how you handled it and what happened.  I’d love to know! Smile

xxoo,

Tenns

Leave a Reply

